Organiser: Bala & District Motor Club Date: May 07 Where: Ffestiniog Championships: None Route: 60 Miles + 14 Tests Starters: 45.

Bala & District MC’s first targa rally, the Rali Cwm Cynfal, was dominated by the Escort of Steven John Williams/Sion Williams, the pair finishing the event almost a minute and a quarter ahead of the maximum entry field.

The winners took fastest time on half the rally’s 14 tests, these included runs in the Llechwedd Quarry, the event sponsors, and the Trawsfynydd Ranges, and a number of tracks in between. While the Escort crew romped away, there was a tight battle for second place. Initially this was led by Kelvin Evans/Alan Evans, however a 30 second cone penalty on the penultimate test demoted them to eighth at the Finish. This allowed Gary Edgington/Kate Bannister, on the navigator’s first rally, to secure the runner up spot. Behind them a family battle was won by just one second as Lee Matthews/Endaf Davies took third and Sion Matthews/Jamie Williams finished in fourth.

Motorsport News - 10th May 2017

Rali Cwm Cynfal

Supported by The Quarry Explorer

Bala & District Motor Club

7th May 2017

Winners: Steven John Williams/Sion Williams (Ford Escort)

Photograph: Duncan Littler

Overall Positions

Award Winners

Time Penalty Details

Test Penalty Details

Positions at MC2 (after Test 8)

Best Individual Test Performances

Class Positions

List of Starters


>> >>
rally results service

Winter Classic

Le Jog

Chris Hellier

Mynydd Ddu

Glyn Memorial


Farrington Trophy

James Trenholme

Powys Lanes

Hill Billy

1000 Lanes

Devils Own

Rali Bro Cader


HERO Challenge

Rali Mon

Dyffryn Twymyn

Vale of Clwyd

Classic Lanes

Gareth Hall


Harry Flatters

Ross Traders


1000 Mile Trial


Holrus Targa

PK Memorial

Kemble Targa

Three Castles


Classic Tracks

Summer Trial

Firefly Novices


Cwm Cynfal


Border 100

Devil’s Tour

Ilkley Jubilee

Bro Preseli

Night Owl


Rali Llyn


Tour of Anglesey

Bath Festival

Rali Bro Caron

Primrose Rally

Mike Darowen

2017 Results