Organiser: Bath Motor Club Date: February 25/26 Where: Wiltshire/Somerset Championships: AWMMC & ASWMC Route: 135 Miles Starters: 63.

Bath Motor Club’s Festival Rally was won in empathic style by the MG ZR of Jamie Turner/Bob Blows. The pairing finished over a minute ahead of the field after many of their rivals fell by the wayside.

It was a tough event, with the combination of an intricate route and the after effects of Storm Doris making it a challenge for all competitors. Dan Darkin/Nick Darkin were fastest over the test that opened proceedings, but they had lost the lead to the eventual winner by the time that their Impreza suffered clutch failure on the third section. Top seeds Paul Tod/David ‘Garth’ Powell went out with engine problems, while gearbox failure accounted for Jamie Jukes/Dale Bowen and a lack of brakes forced out Craig Judd/Gerwyn Barry. None of these made the halfway halt.

Kevin ‘Penclaw’ Jones, this time partnered by Alan James, showed that his Primrose pace wasn’t a fluke by edging out Gavin Rogers/Georgina Clark for the runner up spot at the Finish.

Matt Barker/John Connor took fifth overall and the Expert Class, but would have been in third place if they hadn’t been held up for several minutes by a car that had got stuck in front of them.

Motorsport News - 1st March 2017

The Festival Rally

Bath Motor Club

25th/26th February 2017

Winners: Jamie Turner/Bob Blows (MG ZR)

Photograph: Brian Gilbert

Overall Positions

Award Winners

Time Penalty Details

Fail Penalties

Positions at Petrol

Class Positions

List of Starters


>> >>
rally results service

Winter Classic

Le Jog

Chris Hellier

Mynydd Ddu

Glyn Memorial


Farrington Trophy

James Trenholme

Powys Lanes

Hill Billy

1000 Lanes

Devils Own

Rali Bro Cader


HERO Challenge

Rali Mon

Dyffryn Twymyn

Vale of Clwyd

Classic Lanes

Gareth Hall


Harry Flatters

Ross Traders


1000 Mile Trial


Holrus Targa

PK Memorial

Kemble Targa

Three Castles


Classic Tracks

Summer Trial

Firefly Novices


Cwm Cynfal


Border 100

Devil’s Tour

Ilkley Jubilee

Bro Preseli

Night Owl


Rali Llyn


Tour of Anglesey

Bath Festival

Rali Bro Caron

Primrose Rally

Mike Darowen

2017 Results