rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Breidden Road Rally

Sponsored by TA Gittins, Chartered Accountants

Welsh Border Car Club

2nd/3rd October 2010

Clerk of the Course: Steve Herbert, Ian 'Dude' Roberts & Allen Hart

Route: 130 Miles

Maps: 125, 126 & 136

Starters: 84

Winners: Phil Turner/Wyn Roberts (Ford Escort)

The Breidden once again proved to be a battle between local crews with Phil Turner/Wyn Roberts taking the honours by a minute.

For most of the rally there were three crews in contention for the win. Turner/Roberts led all night, gradually pulling away from Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price. After two sections they were separated by six seconds, but Turner increased the margin by a minute at Petrol. In the second half he began to feel unwell and “lost interest” but managed to maintain his lead.

Up until the three quarter mark Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones held third place just behind Roberts/Price but, at that point, a diff problem forced them to cut to the finish.

The rest of the field were minutes behind this three way battle.

Gareth Evans/Dale Furniss took third, finishing the event with a broken front strut that was trying to force its way through the bonnet. Reian Jones/Michael Gilbey strengthened their claim on the Welsh title. They finished fourth while main rivals Howard Price/Carl Williamson, who had held that position at one point, finished in seventh.

Returning to his roots 2003 WRC Champion Phil Mills contested his first road rally since 1987. Navigating for Gareth Lloyd, he finished in nineteenth position.