rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Farrington Trophy Rally

Sponsored by Health Car Centre, Wales

Clwyd Vale Motor Club

6th/7th November 2010

Clerk of the Course: John Broadhurst & Gareth Williams

Route: 150 Miles (Novices: 110 Miles)

Maps: 116 & 125

Starters: 90

Winners: Kevin Davies/Dale Furniss (Ford Escort)

Dale Furniss retained his Welsh Road Rally Championship when he navigated Kevin Davies to victory on the Farrington. The pair finished the tough event over two minutes of the field. Davies, who was using the Escort that he loaned to Ron Beecroft for last week’s Cilwendeg, thus took the win that he had narrowly missed on the championship’s previous round.

Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones had been in a close battle with Davies/Furniss, taking the lead after their rivals wrong slotted on the rally’s middle section. However the alternator on Jerman’s Escort broke loose and the pair lost over 12 minutes effecting a repair. They recovered to finish in ninth, which, subject to official confirmation, gave Jerman the Welsh Driver’s crown.

Howard Price/Carl Williamson, who were also in the championship hunt, finished in second. Ian Lloyd/Cyril Jones, who have been victorious on the Farrington twice before, moved up to third in the latter stages as the event ventured into Lloyd’s home territory.

Baz Green took a break in the midst of guiding Rob Dick to the win on the two day Glyn Memorial to driver on the Farrington. He and Steve Herbert finished in fifth place.

Less fortunate were Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price, who were holding fourth place when their Golf broke its gearbox. Also on the retirement list were Glyn Price/Richard Morris, who had a TCA break on their Escort.

The Novice Class had a shorter route than the other crews. The category was dominated by Daniel Jones/Ieaun Robertson, who finished 30 minutes ahead of their nearest class rival.