rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Mid Wales Stages

Sponsored by Rally Marketing

Newtown & District Automobile Club

20th June 2010

Clerk of the Course: Chris Tomley

Stages (Historic): 6 Stages (56 Stage Miles)

Stages (Clubman): 5 Stages (45 Stage Miles)

Location: Hafren, Sweet Lamb, Tarenig & Myherin

Starters: Clubman: 32, Historic: 50


Category 1 Results

Category 2 Results

Category 3 Results


Matt Edwards/Sam Collis left all other crews eating their dust as they cruised to victory with a three minute winning margin. The only crew to keep even remotely in touch with the winners were Sara Williams/Patrick Walsh. They were 40 seconds behind after two stages but went out on the Pikes Peak test, which was next, when a turbo failed on their Impreza.

Edwards/Collis took fastest time on every stage. On the nine and a half mile Pikes Peak Stage they were 30 seconds ahead of the field, then over the 11 miles of Myherin they were a massive 49 seconds clear of any other crew.

Neville Jones/Ian Capewell took the runner up spot. They had only been sixth fastest over the first stage, Hafren North, but moved up to third after SS2 and inherited second when Williams/Walsh retired. They finished fifteen seconds ahead of the Hyundai Accent WRC of Peter Egerton/Jamie Edwards, giving the Edwards clan first and third places.

Paul Walker/Mark Lewis should have been in the mix but went off the road and dislodged a wheel on the first stage.

There was a tight battle for Class 3 honours between the Manta of Geraint Mills/Jonny ‘Tad’ Evans and the Mark One Escort of Dylan Davies/Dale Furniss. Mills/Evans were fastest on three of the five stages but a slow time on Pikes Peak, where Davies/Furniss beat them by 15 seconds, saw the Escort crew take the Martyn Lewis Perpetual Trophy for the first 2WD crew home.

Matthew Robinson/Darren Brown took a comfortable win in Class 4. They had been second behind Richard Edwards/Di Brookfield on SS1, but ended up almost two minutes ahead of the home club crew.

Huw Mackinnon/Llion Williams were the fastest crew in Class 2 after two stages but retired soon afterwards, leaving Andy Stretton/Ian Harden to take the category win.