rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Moonbeam Rally

Telford Auto Club

13th/14th March 2010

Clerk of the Course: Neil Myatt

Route: 140 Miles

Maps: 126, 127 & 137

Starters: 74

Winners: Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones (Ford Escort)

Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones emerged from a close contest to take a clear win on the Moonbeam Rally. For more than half the rally the pair were tied in a battle for the lead with Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price.

The two crews were the only competitors who cleaned the section to TC2. At TC4 Roberts/Price were four seconds up on Jerman/Jones. By Petrol the positions had been reversed and the Escort was five seconds ahead of the Golf. The lead changed again soon afterward with ‘GT’ opening up a gap of over a minute. However disaster struck for Roberts/Price as they picked up a puncture. They dropped five minutes and the fight was over. Jerman/Jones romped home to win by over two minutes.

Peak Revs winners Nic Morris/Martin Phasey improved from fourth at Petrol to take the runner up spot, while Kevin Hesketh/Shaun O’Gorman shadowed them, moving from fifth to third and giving their Astra its first finish in their hands.

Keith Ashley/Danny Middle had been the leading Semi-Expert crew at the halfway point, but fell to third in class at the end. Andrew Owen/Graham Thomas, who had been one place behind at Petrol, took the class win, finishing just nine second ahead of second placed Gavin Lewis/Jon Bird.

The Moonbeam, as ever, was very well received by the competitors but it proved a tough test for the less experienced crews. While all of the top fifteen seeds finished the rally, only 12 out of the 24 Novices were classified.