rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

PK Memorial Rally

Sponsored by Polyroof

Bala & District Motor Club

26th/27th June 2010

Clerk of the Course: Roger Evans

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 116 & 125

Starters: 81

Winners: Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones (Ford Escort)

Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones took their second successive Welsh Championship victory with a dominant win on the PK Memorial. As top seeds they had the major advantage of a dust free run through the opening daylight sections which largely used the forestry roads in Clocaenog. At the evening halt they were 19 seconds ahead. However it was on the first part of the night run that they left the rest of the field standing. By Petrol their advantage had grown to over two minutes and this was extended by another minute by the Finish.

Steven John Williams, with Lowri Davies on the maps, was looking for his third win on the trot, but, after keeping in touch with the winners initially, he had to settle for a distant second.

Other than the winners, the drive of the rally came from Steve Head/Ali Proctor, they brought their Astra into third place on what was the navigator’s first event in Wales.

A number of the leading runners failed to make the Finish. John Davies/Eurig Davies withdrew after losing eight minutes with a wrong slot while holding third place.

Daniel Jones/Dale Furniss cracked the sump on their Escort. Carl Hawkins/Iain Tullie had a very short rally after breaking a shaft in Clocaeneog, and Howard Price/Carl Williamson sheared the wheel studs on their newly acquired Escort.

Carl Acott/Richard Bestwick led the Semi-Expert class by over two minutes at Petrol on the driver’s rally debut but they then had to withdraw due to a damaged exhaust.