rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Mon

Sponsored by Slaters Llangefni

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

18th/19th September 2010

Clerk of the Course: Gruffydd Parry

Route: 145 Miles

Maps: 114

Starters: 74

Winners: Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones (Ford Escort)

Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones took victory on a closely fought Rali Mon. The rally, which was run in heavy rain, saw the lead change at almost every control.

At Petrol Iwan Pritchard/Gwawr Hughes led but they managed to maintain this position for just one control after the restart. Reian Jones/Michael Gilbey took over the lead at TC30 only to drop behind the eventual winners at the next control. However the pair were back in front two TCs later, but then lost out again on the next test.

Jerman/Jones then held first position for two controls before, at TC40, top seeds Dylan Davies/Dale Furniss got in front. They then had to stop and change a fan belt and this allowed Jerman/Jones back through to secure the lead which they retained to the Finish.

The winners hadn’t had a clear run. They had stopped to fix a broken bolt on the steering in the first half and then had the navigator’s door fly open in the second. The latter incident sent paperwork, including the time cards, flying out of the car and they were forced to stop to retrieve the items.

Jones/Gilbey had fallen to fourth after losing the lead, but a late charge saw them take the runner up spot from Howard Price/Carl Williamson at the final control. The latter pair having moved up from seventh at Petrol. The result boosted their chances of securing the Welsh Championship.

Derwyn Roberts/Merfyn Williams were clear winners of the Semi-Expert class, finishing almost three minutes ahead of their nearest rivals in eleventh place overall.

Hywel Davies/Richard Morris, who took second place last year, struggled all night with a misfiring engine and a lack of brakes. They eventually finished in twelfth.

Sion Matthews/Brynmor Pierce had a short rally, they put their Nova on its side in a ditch after just 500 yards.