rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Sarn Helen Rally

Sponsored by The Black Lion Royal Hotel

Lampeter & District Motor Club

16th/17th October 2010

Clerk of the Course: Eryl Evans

Route: 115 Miles

Maps: 146, 147 & 160

Starters: 90

Winners: Daniel Jones/Dale Bowen (Ford Escort)

Daniel Jones/Dale Bowen won a highly competitive Sarn Helen Rally by over a minute on Saturday night. The last minute pairing had been in second at Petrol, 38 seconds behind Kevin Davies/Steve Herbert. The latter pair would have taken a comfortable win but they suffered a four minute wrong slot in the second half. They finished in fourteenth place.

Jones/Bowen had to contend with a slipping clutch in the latter stages of the event but survived to give Bowen his first National B win.

There was a close battle for second place with three crews being separated by just nine seconds at the Finish. Richard Jerman/Iwan Jones had been the last of the three at one point but came through to take the runner up spot and keep their Welsh Championship hopes alive. Phil Evans/Dilwyn John took third with top seeds John Davies/Eurig Davies in fourth.

The Sarn Helen was the penultimate round of the Welsh Championship and two of the series front runners had poor nights. Reian Jones/Michael Gilbey finished in eleventh after visiting a ditch in the first half, while Howard Price/Carl Williamson were off the pace throughout the night and could only make twenty-first at the Finish.

Will Arrowsmith/Ceri Davies were fortunate to find an open gate when they went off the road. They survived to take eighth place. Less fortunate were Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price who slid their car into a soft ditch and were unable to get back out.

Stephen John Williams/Lowri Davies withdrew after picking up a fail at PC6.

There was a tight contest for the Expert Class win. Steve Knibbs/Gerwyn Barry led Justin Jones/Lewis Jenkins by four seconds at Petrol with Dyfrig James/Emyr Jones eight seconds further back. At the Finish these positions were reversed with James/Jones taking the class win and tenth overall.