rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Barcud Road Rally

Sponsored by Voodoo Graphics

Barcud Motor Club

6th/7th August 2011

Clerk of the Course: Paul Rooke, Paul Jones & Aled Wyn Jones

Route: 95 Miles

Maps: 135 & 146

Starters: 73

Winners: Hywel Davies/Nick Bloxham (Ford Escort)

Hywel Davies/Nick Bloxham won the Barcud Rally with a victory margin of just two seconds over Stefan Davies/Eurig Evans. The two crews had entered the final section tied for the lead however Davies/Evans were hampered by a misfire and dropped the two vital seconds to their rivals at the last control. This was the second runner spot for Davies in recent weeks, it would seem that his first win can’t be far away.

The short summer night necessitated the use of a compact 95 mile route. Despite this the event proved to be very demanding for competitors. It resulted in a close fought contest with the top five crews at the end of the night being separated by less than 30 seconds.

Iwan Pritchard/Gwawr Hughes had been in second place to Davies/Bloxham at Petrol but dropped to third at the Finish, ten seconds behind Davies/Evans.

The first time pairing of Richard Jerman/Eifion Pughe were well inside the top ten when a broken exhaust caused them to cut to the Finish, missing a number of controls as a result.

Mark GT Roberts/Steve Price went out with a driveshaft problem, while Sean Crowley/Alex Crowley ended their night parked against a JCB in a field.

Event sponsor Ben Birch would have taken the Semi-Expert class win but missed a signature at the very last time control and picked up a fail.