rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Border 100 Road Rally

Sponsored by Trebor Jones & Sons

Welsh Border Car Club

30th April/1st May 2011

Clerk of the Course: Iwan Jones

Route: 100 Miles

Maps: 125 & 126

Starters: 75

Winners: Richard Jerman/Dale Furniss (Ford Escort)

The Border 100 turned into a two horse race however Richard Jerman/Dale Furniss always had the upper hand over Phil Turner/Wyn Roberts as the latter crew suffered wrong slots at critical points. This resulted in Jerman/Furniss taking victory almost a minute ahead of last year’s winners.

Gethin Morgan/Ceri Hughes put in an impressive performance to take third place, albeit over three minutes behind Turner/Roberts. Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price were fourth, having struggled with a lack of brakes in the latter stages of the rally.

Dude’ Roberts/Gwawr Hughes had been expected to go well but two broken throttle cables on a cleanable section saw them fall to tenth at the Finish.

Kevin Davies/Stewart Merry were lying third at Petrol but went out with electrical problems in the second half. Also on the retirement list were Meirion Evans/Dale Bowen who damaged their Escort’s suspension when they ran wide on a corner on the first section. Hywel Davies/Nick Bloxham and Steven John Williams/Lowri Davies failed to make Petrol, the former going out with a broken slave cylinder on the gearbox, the latter with fuel problems. With Dafydd Evans/Carl Jones succumbing to a broken shaft, only half of the top ten starters made the Finish.