rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Cambrian Road Rally

Sponsored by Caron Taxis

Tregaron & District Motor Club

15th/16th January 2011

Clerk of the Course: John Rees

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 135, 146 & 147

Starters: 69

Winners: Matthew Maidment/Byron Jones (Peugeot 205 GTi)

Matthew Maidment/Byron Jones took a comfortable win on the Caron Taxis Cambrian Road Rally. They conquered the treacherously wet conditions to finish almost a minute ahead of 2008 winners Steve Wood/Aled Richards.

Maidment/Jones didn’t have a smooth run as they suffered in the first half with intermittent lighting problems and then had the starter motor fail at Petrol.

Gareth Evans/Rob Walters took third, they would have been second just behind the winners but for a unnecessary one minute penalty picked up for an early arrival at a time control.

Clive Williams/Dale Bowen had been expected to challenge for the win however they were an early retirement when a drive shaft broke. Steve Knibbs/Gerwyn Barry were holding third place when they suffered another ball joint failure on their Corsa.

Edryd Evans/Carl Williamson were excluded for excessive damage after they collided with the Chevette of Hywel Greeves/Tom Bleakley, the latter having stopped to investigate a mechanical problem. The incident resulted in the cancellation of the Geufron White section.

There was a close battle for the win of the novice class, it was between the final two runners in the field. Dylan Balchin/Fiona Balchin snatched the lead on the final section to beat Elfyn Tandy/Steffan Jones by 21 seconds.