rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Powys Lanes Rally

Sponsored by DG Jones Agri Ltd

Epynt Motor Club

5th/6th February 2011

Clerk of the Course: Ceri Davies & Doody Farmer

Route: 115 Miles

Maps: 147, 148 & 161

Starters: 55

Winners: Kevin Davies/Dale Furniss (Ford Escort)

Kevin Davies/Dale Furniss lost time with an excursion on the opening section but the recovered to win the Powys Lanes Rally. This was the inaugural running of the Epynt MC event and the first time the club had run a road rally in 23 years. They achieved a challenging competition that, despite the wet conditions, was very well run.

Davies/Furniss found themselves in third place at Petrol behind Will Arrowsmith/Dylan Jenkins and Gethin Morgan/James Morgan. They pushed through the second half to end up 21 seconds ahead of Arrowsmith/Jenkins, who in turn were a minute ahead of Morgan/Morgan. The veteran crew of Jonathan Gwilym/Neil Spiers took fourth.

Conditions were slippery. Meirion Evans/Dale Bowen would have been in contention but lost eight minutes after sliding off the road and getting bogged down. They eventually finished in eighth. Simon Naughton/Gareth Thomas were less fortunate they ended their rally in a ditch.