rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Rali Mon

Sponsored by Slaters Llangefni

Caernarvonshire & Anglesey Motor Club

17th/18th September 2011

Clerk of the Course: Gruffydd Parry

Route: 150 Miles

Maps: 114

Starters: 81

Winners: Gethin Morgan/Steve Herbert (Ford Escort)

The battle for the Welsh Championship was rejoined on the island of Anglesey and it saw Gethin Morgan/Steve Herbert emerge as the winners of another titanic struggle. The result virtually assures Herbert of the navigator’s title.

The matter was decided at a timed to the minute control in the second half, Morgan/Herbert made their time, while long time leaders Daniel Jones/Graham Dance missed out by a few seconds. Jones later admitting to not having pushed hard enough throughout the night.

Morgan/Herbert were fortunate to start the event as the battery on their Escort went flat while the crew plotted the route. Only a push start from rivals Daniel Jones and Meirion Evans got them underway. Evans, with Stewart Merry on the maps on this occasion, went on to finish in third.

Arwel Hughes-Jones/Steven Roberts headed the retirement list, withdrawing with exhaust damage in the first half.

Mei Jones/Dale Furniss put their newly built Astra amongst the Escorts but were forced out when a shaft broke. Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Dale Bowen also failed to make the Finish after a brake calliper broke on their Golf. This all meant that Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Gwawr Hughes were the only non-Escort in the top twelve.