rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Ystwyth Targa Rally

Sponsored by Cwrt Garage

Abersytwyth & District Motor Club

11th September 2011

Clerk of the Course: Phil Ralphs & Wayne Edwards

Route: 60 Miles

Venue: Sweet Lamb

Starters: 70

Winners: Mike Roberts/Dale Furniss (Ford Escort)

Mike Roberts/Dale Furniss won a closely fought daylight road rally which used four loops of Sweet Lamb. Each loop opened with a test and was followed by a series of standard sections timed to the minute.

Roberts/Furniss took the lead on the third loop and managed to maintain their advantage to the finish. The close nature of the event was proven by the fact that Hefin George/Richard Hughes and Nic Morris/Martin Phasey ended the day on exactly the same time and the runner up spot had to be decided on the fastest time on the first test.

Similarly the Semi-Expert class and fifth overall was decided on the tie breaker. Rob Walters/Dafydd Evans took the category win from Andy Davies/Lee Taylor, the latter having led the class for most of the day. Both of these crews could easily have taken the overall win but for misfortunes on the final loop. Davies/Taylor had been as high as third overall but relaxed too much on the last section and missed their minute by just one second, the resultant one minute penalty dropped them from first to sixth.

Nick Giles/Ben Ruff took the Novice Class award, finishing in ninth place overall in their Tigra.

Irfon Richards/Andrew Edwards would have won the rally by over a minute but for a fail incurred for booking in a minute early at a control on the first loop. Reian Jones/Greg Leeman lost three minutes with a wrong slot on the opening section but were fighting back before retiring on the last loop.