rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Moonbeam Rally

Telford Auto Club

9th/10th March 2013

Clerk of the Course: Kevin Hutchings & Dave Stocking

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 126, 127 & 137

Starters: 66

Winners: Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price (VW Golf GTi)

Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price took their first victory in almost two years as they emerged as winners of a traditionally tough Moonbeam Rally.

For most of the rally it was a two horse race with Roberts/Price swapping seconds with top seeds Iwan Pritchard/Iwan Jones. At Petrol the eventual winners were seven seconds in front of Pritchard/Jones, with the rest of the field five minutes further back. The matter was decided when Pritchard/Jones wrong slotted and became stuck in a field soon after the restart. This meant that Roberts/Price cantered to the win.

Nic Morris/Martin Phasey took second place having recovered from a four minute wrong slot on the opening section. Duncan Williams/Nick Bloxham were left ruing a similar mistake in the second half, the error costing them three minutes. They finished fourth.

With a large number of top crews falling foul to the demanding route a number of Semi-Experts shone. Class winners Richard Bennett/Dylan Andrews finished an excellent third overall, with category rivals Jamie Crump/Darren Ikin in fifth. The top novices, Dan Middle/Dan Campbell, made it into ninth place.

Taking the wrong route and becoming stuck was a common problem; John Leckie/Gareth Price, Sion Matthews/Gruff Parry and others went OTL after visiting the same field.