rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Moonbeam Rally

Telford Auto Club

15th/16th March 2014

Clerk of the Course: Kevin Hutchings & Dave Stocking

Route: 120 Miles

Maps: 126, 127 & 137

Starters: 61

Winners:Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Gwawr Hughes (VW Golf GTi)

Ian ‘Dude’ Roberts/Gwawr Hughes took their first win of the year on a closely fought Moonbeam Rally.

Richard Jerman/Lowri Davies had built up a lead of 13 seconds as they approached the petrol halt, however a broken panhard rod then put them out of the rally.

Roberts/Hughes therefore arrived at Petrol with a narrow lead of five seconds over top seeds Mark ‘GT’ Roberts/Steve Price. Both crews were to be slowed by mechanical problems in the second half. The winners lost all lighting briefly on a number of occasions but made it to the Finish still in front.

Roberts/Price were doubtful that they would make the end of the rally as an engine mounting was breaking up. They did get there but were passed for second place by Jonty Bloxham/Nick Bloxham, who had lost time on the rough opening white of the rally.

The top three crews were separated by little over 30 seconds at the Finish but were two minutes ahead of the rest of the field.

At Petrol four of the top five places were held by drivers from the Roberts clan. Gary Roberts/Max Freeman went on to finish in fifth but Wyn Roberts/ Tom Pritchard retired with alternator failure.