rallyroots.com results@rallyroots.com

rally results service

Unless otherwise clearly indicated, results on this site have been declared final and are therefore not subject to query or protest

Night Owl Rally

Sponsored by Cambrian Hyundai

Aberystwyth & District Motor Club

1st/2nd April 2017

Winners Photo
Winners: Kevin Davies/Dale Bowen (Ford Escort)
Photograph: powershotphotography

Organiser: Aberystwyth & District Motor Club

Date: 1st/2nd April 2017

Clerk of the Course: Irfon Richards & Einion Williams

Route: 110 Miles

Maps: 135 & 146

Starters: 85

Kevin Davies’s returned to the Welsh Championship fray on the Night Owl Rally. He had missed the last two rounds but on the Aberystwyth event, along with navigator Dale Bowen, he took his third win of the year.

However it was a closer contest than his previous two wins as Andy Davies/Lee Taylor finished only six seconds behind. The latter crew would have won but for being delayed when the Astra of former event winners Steve Woods/Aled Richards broke down in front of them. Davies/Taylor lost 46 vital seconds to Davies/Bowen on that section.

With Welsh series leaders Mark ‘GT’ Robert/Dylan Jenkins missing the event due to illness, Davies’s win leaves the title race finely balance.

It was a tough rally with 39 crews failing to make the finish. Top seeds Lewis Morgan/Max Freeman were amongst these; they went out with an oil leak in their newly rebuilt Escort.